Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) 707-1197
Phone: (912) 236-6311
Duffy & Feemster

Know the Laws and Penalties for Impaired Driving in Georgia

Comments (0)

Under Georgia law, you may be charged with a DUI if you are 21 or older and have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.8 percent. If you are driving a commercial vehicle, you can be charged if your BAC is .04 percent. After a DUI arrest, you have a maximum of ten days to try and save your license from georgia laws for DUI being suspended. Because Georgia DUI laws may seem confusing, and you may feel unsure about how the courtroom proceedings work, you may want to hire an expert attorney to help you. Fighting a DUI can be a tough challenge, but with the right legal team your chances improve significantly.

The Penalties for a DUI in Georgia

The penalties for impaired driving in Georgia vary depending on whether or not this is your first DUI offense. Here is a brief look at these penalties:

  • 1st Offense: First time offenders will have to serve a minimum of 24 hours and up to 1 year in jail. They will have to pay fines and penalties of $300 to $1,000 and will have their license suspended for up to one year.
  • 2nd Offense: Second time offenders must serve a minimum of 3 days and up to 1 year in jail. They will have to pay fines and penalties of $600 to $1,000 and will have their license suspended for up to three years. They will have an ignition interlock admission device installed in their cars if the court requires it.
  • 3rd Offense: Third time offenders will have to serve a minimum of 15 days and up to 1 year in jail. They will have to pay fines and penalties of $1,000 to $5,000 and will have their license suspended for up to 5 years. They will be required to have an ignition interlock admission device installed in their cars.
  • 4th Offense: Fourth time offenders will have to serve a minimum of 1 day and up to 5 years in jail. They will have to pay fines and penalties of $1,000 to $5,000. Their license may be suspended indefinitely. They will be required to have an ignition interlock admission device installed in their cars.

At Duffy & Feemster, we have years of experience representing DUI cases. We are committed to making sure that you are properly represented and receive fair treatment. If you have been arrested and accused of DUI, call us at 888-707-1197 for a free consultation. We can help prevent you from losing your license and save you jail time.

 

Be the first to comment!

Post a Comment

To reply to this message, enter your reply in the box labeled "Message", hit "Post Message."

Name:*

Email:* (will not be published)

Message:*

Notify me of follow-up comments via email.

Live Chat