On January 1, 2010, Georgia enacted a ‘Super Speeder Law’ to deter drivers from ignoring posted speed limits. In the Peach state, 18 percent of vehicle related fatalities are caused by speeding.
The law, called HB160, adds an extra $200 state fee for any anyone who is convicted of driving at 75 mph or above on a two-lane road or anyone convicted of driving at or above 85 mph anywhere in the state of Georgia. Failure to pay the fee results in an additional $50 fee and suspension of the driver’s license.
What Happens When You Get a Super Speeder Ticket
If you receive a Super Speeder ticket, there is critical information you should know about the consequences and the process for handling your ticket. Here is a brief look at that information:
- Notification. Once the Department of Driver Services (DDS) receives notification of your conviction for speeding, you will be notified of your Super Speeder fee by first class mail.
- Time limit. You will have 120 days from notification to pay the fee to the DDS. Failure to pay the fee within that time will result in the suspension of your license.
- License reinstatement. In order to get your license reinstated, you will have to pay an additional $50 fee.
- Criminal record. Because Super Speeder is a form of reckless driving, it is a criminal misdemeanor and will show up on a criminal background check.
- Insurance increase. When you are convicted of exceeding posted speeding limits by 15 mph or more, your insurance company can label you as a high-risk driver and could choose to raise your insurance premiums or drop your coverage.
- Driving license penalties. Driving in excess of 15 mph over the posted speed limit will also lead to points on your driving license.
How You Can Fight the Ticket
A Super Speeder ticket can cost you thousands of dollars in fines, court fees, and increased insurance premiums. However, if you hire the right defense attorney, you may be able to decrease those costs by:
- Reducing your violation. An attorney may be able to negotiate your ticket down to a violation that does not exceed 15 mph. This will prevent it from being reported to the DDS and also your insurance company.
- Showing inaccurate reading. An attorney may be able to show that the police officer was either too far from or too close to your vehicle to obtain a reliable reading from the standard monitoring device being used. An attorney may also question the calibration and maintenance of the equipment.
Have you been given a Super Speeder ticket in Georgia? Before you pay the ticket, call our expert legal team at Duffy & Feemster. We specialize in traffic law, and we can discuss your case and advise you on your best options.