Go to navigation Go to content
Toll-Free: (888) 707-1197
Phone: (912) 236-6311
Duffy & Feemster

What are Georgia’s minimum insurance requirements?

If you’re a licensed Georgia driver, it’s important to know what the state expects of you—including what insurance coverages you must carry. While Georgia does require a minimum amount of liability insurance, you should also be aware that the minimum insurance policy may not be sufficient if you’re involved in an accident. Georgia car insurance

Georgia’s Insurance Requirements

Every licensed Georgia driver must carry a certain amount of liability insurance on a vehicle to operate it lawfully. When you cause an accident, your liability policy ensures that the accident victims are able to pay for medical and car repair expenses. These insurance minimums are:

  • $25,000 bodily injury for each person
  • $50,000 for each incident
  • $25,000 for property damage

You Need More Than the Minimum

If you carry only what Georgia requires, you risk not being able to fully cover a person’s injuries and damages—but you may also be unable to cover your own. For this reason, it’s important you also carry:

  • Physical Damage and Collision Insurance. This coverage insures two types of damages: those occurring from theft or vandalism and those occurring in an accident—even if another person caused the wreck.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM) Coverage. Although Georgia requires all drivers to carry insurance, some break the law by driving uninsured. In case someone causes a crash and has insufficient or no insurance to cover your damages, the UM coverage on your policy can supplement or totally cover your losses.

In Georgia, Fault Matters

Georgia is a “fault” state, and both parties can be considered at fault for an accident. This means, you can recover damages even if you’re partially at fault, but your recovery will be reduced by the percentage of your own responsibility for the accident. Georgia law allows a driver to recover an appropriate amount for injuries and damages if she is 50% or less at fault for the accident. So, it’s important to take this into account when buying your insurance policy.

Contact a Trusted Attorney Today

If you’ve been involved in an accident and are concerned about medical bills, property damages, and lost wages, it’s important to consult with a trustworthy attorney who can help you understand the liability in your case. To get in contact with a member of the experienced team at Duffy & Feemster, fill out the online contact form on our website.

 

Live Chat